top of page
  • Body, Mind & Ki

Chakra Balancing for Beginners

Updated: Jan 19, 2022

What are the 7 Chakras?

The seven Chakras - Balance your Chakras

Chakra meaning in English: Chakra [Sanskrit] – wheel.

Have you heard of them, those delightful, spinning wheels of energy we all have but cannot see?

Do you know what the Chakras are or where the Chakras sit?

Are Chakras real?


These seven vortexes run along the length of your spinal column and play a vital role in your physical, emotional and mental health.

How do they play such role?

Chakras are responsible for your Ki (Qi or prana) - your life force energy!

That’s a mighty responsibility and it is OUR responsibility to maintain a balance in our Chakras. Like everything else, they need attention and care.

These energetic wheels can become blocked and result in a variety of physical, emotional and mental ailments. A blockage means that the energy is no longer flowing easily. This will result in either an overactive or underactive chakra.

Fortunately, Reiki is a very effective method to balance your chakras! I have also created an easy to follow, step-by-step video guidance to help you balance your Chakras!

Enjoy an intro FREEBIE to help get you started.

To help us understand the chakras, each has been assigned its own:

Chakra number

Chakra colour

Chakra location and

Chakra purpose.

Let’s dive right in:

1. The Root Chakra

Muladhara [Sanskrit] MULA “Root” DHARA “Support”

The Root Chakra - Balance your Chakras
The Root Chakra - Muladhara

Colour: Red

Location: The base of your spine, near your tailbone. This chakra extends to just below your belly button.

Purpose: To connect your energy to the earth (grounding)

When your Root Chakra is balanced: You feel a sense of accomplishment, feeling secure when thinking about finances and basic needs (survival instinct)

When it is unbalanced: Overactive - anxiety, lower back or hip pain, digestive issues

Underactive - daydreaming, unfocused (you may get comments of being ’space-y'/space cadet’

2. The Sacral Chakra Svadhishana [Sanskrit] “the place of the self”

The Sacral Chakra - Balance your Chakras
The Sacral Chakra - Svadhishana

Colour: Orange

Location: below the belly button and extends to the belly buttons center.

Purpose: creative & sexual energy, identity as a human

When your Sacral Chakra is balanced: you have a healthy sexual appetite, feel creative and have healthy relationships (appropriately stimulated emotional centers)

When it is unbalanced: Overactive – addiction, obesity

Underactive – depression, decreased sex drive, lack of creativity

3. The Solar Plexus Manipura [Sanskrit] “lustrous gem”

The Solar Plexus Chakra - Balance your Chakras
The Solar Plexus - Manipura

Colour: Yellow

Location: starts in the center of the belly button and extends up to the breastbone